the lies we tell ourselves.

growing up, i always found myself to be a bit shy, a bit reserved , and i pretty much stuck to myself for most the part. As I got older I was always around people. Since my mom is a business owner/Entrepreneur /inventor, being around people became a natural part of life. However I always denied the ‘social’ aspect of my life.

As I began working in ministry, many close mentors and friends would always laugh and ask myself “why don’t you put yourself out there, go talk to that person! go make a connection!” I would always laugh shyly back and say “me? no , im too shy!” cough cough.

This has been a re-occuring conversation for years now.

A few weeks ago, I set myself up in an enviornment that caused me to come out of my shell, and everything flowed naturally and it was great! I honestly laughed at the situation and said “this is easier than i thought”

In that moment God asked me why in the world for YEARS (literal years guys) have I always tried to tell myself I was unsocial, and shy, and basically a loner…

and I realized it’s been a lie i’ve been trying to convince myself of, so I have a reason to be alone in places/areas in my life that I shouldn’t be.

mind example:: oh why cant you find a good accountability partner? or someone to have a bible study with one day?… me? no, im not social, im just awkward and shy.

oh the lies we tell ourselves!

how many of us can honestly look back at our lives, and find areas in which we have lied to ourselves?

.. i am not good at that

…. i am not good enough

… i am not pretty enough

… im not really qualified

… im not brave/ courageous enough

… its just not really me

…. im socially akward and live in a cave (MY PERSONAL FAV!!)

…. God has someone better for the job

…. i am not inspirational/creative enough

… maybe i dont have enough followers

as i’ve pushed myself to write this blog post, a song came on my shuffle, literally right now, that i have to now include in this post bc jesus is so so good

i am no longer a slave to fear, I AM a child of GOD.

the bible tells us in 2 Corinthians 10:5 that we must take every thought captive!

and as i am learning myself, this INCLUDES THE LIES WE TELL OURSELVES.

Lets face the true fact of the matter is that God did not give us a spirit of fear / timidity, but of peace love and a sound mind.

I believe we have to stop trying convince ourselves of the little lies we tell ourselves and start walking in who and what God has made us to be!

God is able, so able to break the chains of the lies we tend to convince ourselves of.

God is able to change these areas in our life.

Truth of the matter is, im not actually shy,  I can be extremely social when I want to be, and sometimes I can just sit alone and have a coffee, and thats okay.

But today I make the decision to stop telling myself i am too “shy” to have good friends/keep friends, that i am not good enough to do the things God has put in my heart, that I lost my touch, that Im not worthy of being used,

let your lies end today, and let the Word of God speak truth into your heart, and life.

sending my love,

-M.

 

Leave a comment